Saturday, 6 March, 2010

Magic Academy nurtures social responsibility and scientific poise: Minister

Duely honoured: Minister for Law and Sports, M. Vijayakumar (second right) presents the Magic Academy's lifetime achievement award 2009 to magician Junior Mandrake (Mani Antony) at the Wonder World auditorium of the Academy on 6th of March. From left: Gopinath Muthukad, Dr. George Onakoor, Junior Mandrake and Chandrasenan Mithirmala.

Thiruvananthapuram: Magic was an art that never kept its audiences bored, said the Minister for Law and Sports, M. Vijayakumar. This was the reason that prompted him to visit the Magic Academy again and again. The Academy through its diverse activities, was growing scientific poise and social responsibility, the minister added. Mr. Vijayakumar was speaking after presenting the Indrajala Pratibha Puraskaram, a lifetime achievement award instituted by the Academy to veteran magician Junior Mandrake. The award comprised of a purse of Rs.10000, a memento designed by artist Bhattathiri and a certificate of honour.
Free magic wares: Rs.5000 worth magic equipments were given for free to financially backward, but much forward in magic talent, Albin Roshan (left) of Kannur and Sudheesh S.A. of Thiruvananthapuram.

The Academy was in fact a realization of his guru, Vazhakunnam Neelakandan Namboodiri’s unfulfilled dream of establishing a school of magic, Mr. Mandrake said in his reply speech. Hence an award from the Academy was so dearest to him, the magician said. During his presidential address erudite scholar, Dr. George Onakoor opined that the Academy has introduced before society, the charm and beauty of the magical art.
Supporting education: Magic Academy's educational scholarships were distributed to (from left) Renuka B. Menon, Palakkad; Lijina, Kannur; Sabura, Alappuzha; Abi Shejrik Fasla, Wayanad and Sujith Kumar, Thiruvananthapuram

Ashwin Raj Elanjimattom (Ernakulam), Sanjusha Satheesh (Kozhikode), Yadunath Palliyath (Kasaragode) and T.B. Haridas (Thrissur), winners of a state-level magic competition held in Kochi, were presented with the Academy’s medals. Their performance followed the function. Eearlier, the executive director of the Academy, Gopinath Muthukad welcomed the guests and honorary director, Chandrasenan Mithirmala recorded vote of thanks.

Winners' pride: (From left below) State-level Vazhakunnam memorial competition winners, Ashwin Raj Elanjimattom, Sanjusha Satheesh, Yadunath Palliyath and T.B. Haridas receive Magic Academy's medals from the Minister, M. Vijayakumar.

No comments: