Friday, 5 March, 2010

Jr. Mandrake to receive Magic Academy award tomorrow

Thiruvananthapuram: Minister of Law and Sports, M. Vijayakumar will be presenting the Magic Academy’s lifetime achievement award for magician Junior Mandrake at a function to be held at 6pm, tomorrow the 6th of March at the Wonder World auditorium of the Academy. The function will be presided over by erudite scholar Dr. George Onakoor.

The award consists of Rs.10000, a memento designed by artiste Bhattathiri and a certificate of honour. On the occasion, winners of Vazhakunnam memorial State-level competitions will be honoured. Junior magicians Ashwinraj Elanjimattom (Ernakulam), Sanjusha Satheesh (Kozhikode) and senior magicians, Yadunath Palliyath (Kasaragode), T. B. Haridas (Thrissur) will receive the honour.

Renuka B. Menon of Palakkad who among the magicians’ children achieved meritorious results at the S.S.L.C. will be issued a two-year educational scholarship of Rs.2500 per year. Magic wares worth Rs.5000 will be issued free of cost to financially backward magicians, Albin Roshan (Kannur) and S.A. Sudheesh (Thiruvananthapuram). The function will be followed by a magic show by four prize-winning magicians. Entry to these shows will be open for all.

No comments: